2021 Camping World Truck Series preview: Charlotte

The Camping World Truck Series returns to Charlotte Motor Speedway for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200, one week after running on the road course at Circuit of the Americas.

The truck series’ qualifying was canceled due to rain, leading to the starting lineup being determined by formula.

The last truck series race at CMS saw Chase Elliott defeat Kyle Busch to claim the $50,000 bounty, a reward offered to any Cup Series that could beat Busch in a truck series race.

Todd Gilliland will start on the pole for the first time since the second race at Texas Motor Speedway in 2019. He is coming off a victory last Saturday at the Toyota Tundra 225 at COTA, clinching a playoff spot and vaulting him up to fifth in overall points in the truck series. The last time Gilliland won a race before last Saturday was the Fall race at Martinsville in 2019.

Joining Gilliland on the front row is Sheldon Creed, the defending truck series champion. Creed sits in third place in overall points after his win at Darlington Raceway back on May. 7.

Austin Hill will start third. Hill has yet to win a race this season but has three top-five finishes and six top-10 finishes in nine truck series starts.

John Hunter Nemechek, the current points leader in the truck series, will start fourth. Nemechek has two wins and five top-five finishes this season and won a 1.5-mile race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway back in March.

Ben Rhodes, who won the first two races of the season, will start fifth. Rhodes has eight top-10 finishes in nine truck series races this season and is second in points.

Zane Smith will start sixth. Smith is still without a top-five finish so far in 2021 and sits eighth in the point standings

Tyler Ankrum will start seventh. Ankrum started on pole at COTA, finishing third to claim his second top-five finish of the season. Ankrum is 14th in the point standings.

Grant Enfinger will start eighth. He has not won a truck series race this season and has two top-five finishes and five top-10 finishes in eight truck series starts.

Carson Hocevar and Matt Crafton round out the top 10. Hocevar is the driver right at the playoff cutline in 10th place and Crafton has two top-five finishes and four top-five finishes to start 2021.

Coverage for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 will begin at 8:30 p.m. EST. The stages run through laps 30, 60 and 134. You can catch the race on Fox Sports 1 and the Motor Racing Network.

Full lineup:

Via Bob Pockrass, FOX Sports

Leave a Reply