Scott Dixon claims pole for the Indianapolis 500

For the fourth time in his career, Scott Dixon has claimed the pole for the 2021 Indianapolis 500, the fourth time in his career he won pole for the Indy 500. Dixon, who is the current points leader in the driver’s championship in the NTT IndyCar Series, has only won the Indy 500 one time (2008).

Joining Dixon on the front row is Colton Herta, who won the second race of the season at St. Petersburg and Indianapolis Grand Prix winner Rinus VeeKay. Herta and VeeKay finished eighth and 21st in last year’s Indy 500.

For the Fast Nine, Ed Carpenter, Tony Kanaan, who won the 2013 Indy 500 and Alex Palou compose the second row. Palou qualified sixth-fastest despite crashing on Saturday during the first round of qualifying. Palou finished seventh despite wrecking, making it to the Fast Nine.

2014 Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay will start seventh, three-time winner Helio Castroneves lines up eighth and Marcus Ericsson will start ninth, rounding out the Fast Nine drivers.

For the Last Chance Qualifying, 2018 Indy 500 winner Will Power barely managed to qualify for the race despite hitting the wall on the competition on Sunday. Power will start 32nd, alongside Sage Karam and Simona de Silvestro.

Charlie Kimball and R.C. Emerson failed to qualify for the Indy 500 during Sunday’s shootout against Karam, Power and de Silvestro.

The 2021 Indianapolis 500 will take place on Sunday May 30 at noon EST on NBC.

Leave a Reply