Scott Dixon wins sixth IndyCar championship

A shortened 2020 season wouldn’t faze long-time NTT IndyCar series veteran Scott Dixon as he earned his sixth championship Sunday afternoon at St. Petersburg.

The championship battle came down to Dixon and defending champion Josef Newgarden. Newgarden earned the victory Sunday afternoon but Dixon survived some mid-pack chaos from the rest of the field and scored his seventh podium of the season to cap off the year.

Along with seven podiums, Dixon earned four wins in 2020 (Texas, Indy road course, Road America, Gateway) to extend his all-time IndyCar wins record to 49. The next closest to him is Will Power with 37.

Dixon joins a prestigious list of motorsport athletes with six or more championships, which includes Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton (F1), Jimmie Johnson, Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt (NASCAR), and John Force (NHRA).

Dixon will now look to hunt down Mario Andretti and A. J. Foyt on the all-time wins list for American open-wheel racing. He sits two wins behind Andretti and 17 back of Foyt.

Leave a Reply