Chase Briscoe dominates Xfinity playoff opener at Vegas

Leading a career-high 165 laps, Chase Briscoe dominated at Las Vegas Motor Speedway to sweep in Sin City, earn his eighth win of 2020, and clinch his spot into the round of 8.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series kicked off the postseason at Las Vegas Saturday evening with the Alsco 300.

The battle for the lead would heat up early on with four lead changes between pole-sitter Chase Briscoe, Ross Chastain and Austin Cindric.

Following the competition caution, Chastain led with Ryan Sieg threatening in second place. Briscoe worked his way back to third after a poor restart and ran both drivers down. On a power move in the outside line, Briscoe would clear both Sieg and Chastain to retake the lead. Chastain would fight back but would get loose off of turn four and scrap the wall, allowing Briscoe to win his sixth stage of 2020.

Harrison Burton, Brandon Brown, Michael Annett and Justin Allgaier would miss out on points in stage one.

Briscoe, with only a challenge from Noah Gragson, dominated stage two — leading every lap and winning it. Chastain missed out on crucial stage points, while Burton, Brown and Annett failed to score points in either stage.

Much of the final stage would play out the same —Briscoe domination. A caution for a tire in the infield grass would come out on lap 154 but it would not stop Briscoe from leading as he would set sail on the following restart.

However, with 14 to go, Alex Labbe was slow down the backstretch but was able to get to pit road before stalling. This still brought out a caution to bring the field back together.

The caution did not faze Briscoe as he went on to score the victory.

Gragson came runner-up to Briscoe. Hemric finished third, which is his second-best finish of 2020 (2nd-place finish at Charlotte). Allgaier and Sieg rounded out the top five.

Chastain finished worst of the playoff drivers with a 16th-place run.

Playoff driver results:

1. Chase Briscoe

2. Noah Gragson

4. Justin Allgaier

5. Ryan Sieg

6. Austin Cindric

7. Michael Annett

9. Harrison Burton

10. Justin Haley

11. Brandon Jones

12. Riley Herbst

15. Brandon Brown

16. Ross Chastain

Due to the poor finish, Chastain is now two points below the playoff cutline. He joins Annett (-10), Herbst (-14) and Brown (-20).

Race two in the round of 12 takes place next Saturday at Talladega Superspeedway.

Leave a Reply