Grant Enfinger wins at Richmond in 1-2-3 finish for ThorSport

Austin Hill started on the pole and cruised to an early lead. With 16 laps to go in stage one, the caution came out, bringing Derek Kraus, one of the playoff bubble drivers, to the pits. Johnny Sauter, who needed to win to get into the playoffs, restarted six laps down after constant repairs. Brett Moffit suffered a tire-rub on the restart, slowly plummeted down the leaderboard as the stage ended.

With five laps left in stage one, Zane Smith passed Hill and held on to win stage one, his fifth stage win of the season. Tyler Ankrum and Todd Gilliland ended stage one ahead of Kraus for the playoffs.

At the start of stage two, Smith started alongside Grant Enfinger, who pitted during stage one and stayed out during the stage caution. Smith pulled away to hold the lead over Enfinger and Ben Rhodes. With 25 laps left in stage two, Smith lost the lead as Enfinger and Rhodes passed him with Rhodes taking the lead from Enfinger five laps later.

Rhodes held off Enfinger to win stage two, his first of the season, and giving him vital playoff points heading into the postseason. Smith fell to fifth after being passed by Hill and David Ragan passed him for third and fourth place.

Hill wrapped up the regular-season championship, gaining him 15 bonus points. Enfinger suffered a tire rub on the restart, sending him to pit road. Rhodes held the lead over Hill and Gilliland.

Kraus suffered a penalty on pit road, putting him a lap down on the restart. Later into the final stage, the caution was brought out. Ankrum went to pit road while Gilliland stayed out. On the restart, Moffitt surged through the pack and passed Rhodes for the lead with 63 laps left. Crafton took the lead from Moffitt with 30 laps to go.

Enfinger and Crafton were battling for the lead, and Enfinger won the battle, passing Crafton with seven laps to go. Enfinger held on to pick up his third win of 2020.

Crafton finished second, Rhodes finished third. It’s the first time in truck series history where one team claims a 1-2-3 finish.

Moffitt collected fourth place, heads into the playoffs without a win in 2020.

For the playoff battle, Gilliland finished 17th but finished ahead of Ankrum on points to qualify for the playoffs with the ninth-most points. Ankrum finished fifth, securing 10th in the playoff standings, the final driver to qualify. Kraus failed to qualify after finishing 23rd.

Ragan, Timmy Hill and Codie Rohrbaugh all finished in the top 10. The three drivers had a combined two coming into this race.

The playoffs for the truck series begin next week as the round of 10 starts at Bristol Motor Speedway next Thursday.

Race results:

Playoff drivers:

1, Austin Hill

2. Brett Moffitt

3. Zane Smith

4. Ben Rhodes

5. Sheldon Creed

6. Christian Eckes

7. Grant Enfinger

8. Matt Crafton

9. Todd Gilliland

10. Tyler Ankrum

Leave a Reply