2020 NASCAR All-Star Race preview

For the first time in NASCAR history, the all-star race heads to Bristol Motor Speedway after spending decades at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The festivities will start with the All-Star Open followed by the All-Star Race. Here is how the night will shape up.

The race will run 20 drivers. However, only 16 have qualified for the race as the other four spots will be filled by drivers racing in The Open. The Open will consist of 21 drivers who did not qualify for the main event. The winners of all three stages will qualify for the race with the last spot decided by a fan vote. If a driver wins a stage in The Open, then he does not participate in the rest of The Open.

The stages for the open end on lap 35, lap 70 and the finish on lap 85. The final stage must end under green.

There are also two aspects of the race to make it more interesting: the underglow and the choose-cone rule.

The underglow will see the cars have lighting under their vehicles at the rear. The lights will be color-coded with blue for Ford, amber for Chevy, and red for Toyota. As for the choose-cone rule, it makes restarts more interesting. There is a spot on the track where drivers must choose which lane to restart in after lining up single file under caution. With this, drivers can line up where they decide on the restart and use strategy to gain track position.

The field was determined after rookie Cole Custer shocked the NASCAR world and picked up a victory at Kentucky last weekend in overtime. Both The Open and the main event lineups were chosen from a random draw. For The Open, Michael McDowell will start on the pole followed by Aric Almirola and Christopher Bell. For the main event, Martin Truex Jr. will start on the pole followed by Alex Bowman and Ryan Blaney.

Last year at the All-Star Race, Kyle Larson won both The Ppen and the race as he edged out Kevin Harvick for the victory.

This year’s all-star race is intriguing, especially after the last race run at Bristol back on May 31st. On the final lap of the race, the leaders, Chase Elliott and Joey Logano collided, taking each other out. Brad Keselowski would take advantage and win his second race of the season. It will be interesting to see what this night will have in store.

Coverage for the All-Star Open will begin at 7:00 p.m. EST with the All-Star Race following at 8:30 p.m. You can catch both races on Fox Sports 1 and the Motor Racing Network.

Open lineup:

All-Star lineup:

Leave a Reply