Sheldon Creed wins rain-shortened race at Kentucky for first career win

The truck series race at Kentucky Speedway was messy. There were five caution flags during the first 70 laps and the weather made things messier. Sheldon Creed won stage two, which would be the final laps of the race before weather stormed in to force a stoppage. Creed would win, picking up his first win of 2020 and first of his truck series career.

On lap one, a caution was brought out as Spencer Boyd’s car was leaking fluid onto the track. Brett Moffitt started on the pole and had the early lead after the restart.

On lap 15, Codie Rohrbaugh was caught up in a three-wide battle, spun out and crashed into the wall, bringing out the caution. This was the second straight race Rohrabugh crashed out of in stage one.

Zane Smith pushed by Moffitt for the lead after another caution flag, which he would hold to win stage one and pick up his first stage win of the season. Moffitt would have to drop to the rear on the restart for a safety violation.

On the pit stops, Smith took two tires along with Johnny Sauter, who moved up to second from 14th.

Parker Kligerman started out with the lead with Matt Crafton to begin stage two. After another caution flag, Ben Rhodes took the lead. He would lose the lead on the next restart to Sheldon Creed, who had fresher tires. Creed would hold off Rhodes to win stage two and pick up his third stage win of the season.

Right after stage two, lightning was spotted in the area, bringing out the red flag. All the drivers were brought to pit road. Creed would pick up the win, his first of the season. Rhodes, Crafton, Sauter and Austin Hill finished second through fifth respectively. Hill would pick up his fourth top-five finish of the season, keeping his run of a top-10 finish in every race this season alive.

Christian Eckes finished sixth. Smith finished seventh. Derek Kraus scored his sixth top 10 in 12 truck races with an eighth-place run. Rookie Tanner Gray scored his second top 10 of the season with a ninth-place finish. Todd Gilliland rounded out the top 10.

The truck series will head to Texas Motor Speedway next Saturday night for the Vankor 350.

Race results:

Check back for driver points

Leave a Reply