Dale Earnhardt Jr. leads 2021 NASCAR Hall of Fame class

Photo by Jamie Squire | Getty Images

Tuesday afternoon, the 2021 NASCAR Hall of Fame class was announced on NBC Sports Network. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mike Stefanik were the two inductees from the “modern” ballot, and Red Farmer was the inductee from the “pioneer” ballot.

Earnhardt Jr. drove in the NASCAR Cup Series from 2000 to 2017 and ran full time in the Xfinity Series in 1998 and 1999, winning the championship both years. He was a 26-time winner in the Cup Series, which included two wins in the Daytona 500 and a win in the all-star race during his rookie season. He was voted Most Popular Driver for 15 consecutive years from 2003 to 2017. Today, Jr. is the owner of the Xfinity Series team JR Motorsports and is an analyst for NBC Sports.

Stefanik was a nine-time champion in NASCAR, winning seven Whelen Modified Tour championships and two Busch North Series (now ARCA Menards Series East) championships. Sadly, Stefanik was tragically killed in a plane crash on September 15, 2019 at the age of 61.

Farmer was the lone inductee from the “pioneer” ballot. He was one of the members of the “Alabama Gang”, which included drivers such as Bobby Allison, Donnie Allison and Neil Bonnett. He was a three-time champion in the previously known NASCAR Late Model Sportsman Division and ran 36 races in the Cup Series.

Leave a Reply